Thursday, May 8, 2014


Weezer awakened ancient feelings with the twisted tales of unraveled romance that surf along on these asthmatic power pop blues.  The group was formed in Los Angeles by Rivers Cuomo, Patrick Wilson, Matt Sharp, and Jason Cropper.  Cuomo considered:    "I think moving from the back woods of Connecticut to Los Angeles was extremely helpful (to me) as far as getting a label deal. But, I don't know...We played probably fifty or sixty shows before the labels started coming and it was clear that we were going to get a deal. That was over nine months to a year. It seemed like it was taking forever. We were playing the same songs that eventually became hits, and we were wondering 'Why isn't anybody interested in us? These other bands are getting signed, why aren't we?' ... I'm a real pessimist. When we put out this record, I thought everyone would completely ignore it...We don't have explosions on stage or spit blood or anything like that.  We're bland... It's just the same three chords again...Every producer except one passed on us. That's basically the history of the band -- just about everybody passes on us. It's really bad for our self-esteem...I wouldn't say that I relax and enjoy anything; but I think my pessimism helps. I never really expect anything good to happen, so when it does, it's a nice surprise."

The band was signed to Geffen Records and got The Cars' Ric Ocasek to produce their eponymous debut.  During the sessions at Electric Lady Studios in New York City, guitarist Jason Cropper left the band.  He was replaced by Brian Bell and his contributions were overdubbed.  The album credits Rivers Cuomo on lead vocals, guitar, keyboards, and harmonica;  Brian Bell on guitar and backing vocals;  Matt Sharp on bass and backing vocals;  and Patrick Wilson on drums, percussion, and backing vocals.  

'Weezer' became a sensation as an alternative to the grunge dominated radio soundscape of the time.  It charted at forty-two in France,  thirty-five in Norway,  twenty-three in the UK, twenty-two in Finland, sixteen in the US, ten in Canada, and number six in New Zealand and Switzerland.  It went triple platinum in the US and double platinum in Canada.

'Undone - The Sweater Song' unraveled at number six on the US modern rock tracks chart.  

'Buddy Holly' hit number two on the US modern rock tracks chart.  

'Say It Ain't So' wrestled its way to number seven on the US modern rock tracks chart.  

full album:

All tracks written by Rivers Cuomo, except where noted.

1. "My Name Is Jonas" Cuomo, Patrick Wilson, Jason Cropper 3:23
2. "No One Else" 3:14
3. "The World Has Turned and Left Me Here" Cuomo, Wilson 4:26
4. "Buddy Holly" 2:40
5. "Undone – The Sweater Song" 4:55
6. "Surf Wax America" Cuomo, Wilson 3:04
7. "Say It Ain't So" 4:18
8. "In the Garage" 3:56
9. "Holiday" 3:26
10. "Only in Dreams" 8:03

No comments:

Post a Comment