Sunday, May 15, 2011

east side story

Squeeze released their quintessential masterpiece with this album of diverse pop nuggets. 'East Side Story' was originally conceived as a double album with a different producer for each side: Dave Edmunds, Nick Lowe, Elvis Costello, and Paul McCartney. Edmunds only produced one song and Elvis Costello did the rest of the album with Roger Bechirian. The variety of different musical forms is breathtaking: Baroque, psychedelia, rockabilly, country, soul, and new wave. The songwriting team of Chris Difford and Glenn Tilbrook has often been compared to Lennon and McCartney; and this is Squeeze's White Album.

Jools Holland had left the band and was replaced with Paul Carrack, who Costello got to sing lead for the leadoff single,'Tempted'. The album credits Glenn and E.C. on vocals as well. It was their first hit in the US.

"Tempted by the fruit of another
Tempted but the truth is discovered
What's been going on
Now that you have gone
There's no other"

'Is That Love' was a top forty hit in the UK.

"Beat me up with your letters, your walk out notes,
Funny how you still find me right here at home.
Legs up with a book and a drink,
Now is that love that's making you think."

The frenetic album opener'In Quintessence' was the only song produced by Dave Edmunds.

"He smokes himself into double vision
Leaves his mind on an indecision,
Thinks he's invented imagination
Says that God is some relation."

The weapy country and western 'Labelled With Love' made it to number four on the British charts.

"Drinks to remember, I me and myself
And winds up the clock
And knocks dust from the shelf
Home is a love that I miss very much
So the past has been bottled and labelled with love."

'Messed Around' ends the album with a rockabilly flourish.

"She left herself open for him all the time
But always kept off of his cloud,
All the king's horses and all the king's men
Have come to mess her around."

'East Side Story' 
full album:

All songs written by Chris Difford and Glenn Tilbrook except as indicated.

LP side A:

"In Quintessence" – 2:55 Produced by Dave Edmunds, assisted by Neil King
"Someone Else's Heart" – 3:00
"Tempted" – 4:02
"Piccadilly" – 3:26
"There's No Tomorrow" – 3:27
"Heaven" – 3:49
"Woman's World" – 3:42

LP side B:

"Is That Love" – 2:31
"F-Hole" – 4:41
"Labelled With Love" – 4:44
"Someone Else's Bell" – 3:08
"Mumbo Jumbo" – 3:13
"Vanity Fair" – 3:09
"Messed Around" – 2:42

No comments:

Post a Comment