Saturday, May 28, 2011


Sonic Youth blazed a trail from beyond the noise of their avant-underground to the brutal beauty of their backwards love. 'Evol' was their first album with Steve Shelley and his drumming stabilizes the chaos and brings structure and savagery to their jagged dissonant no wave. The band also made the move from Homestead Records to SST with this album. Mike Watt was invited to play during the sessions as well, which brought him out of his depression from the recent death of D. Boon.

'Tom Violence' is an electrifying and intimate portrayal of domestic abuse.

"There's a thing in my memory
Holding on for dear life
With a feeling of secrets
Beating up under my flesh"

The eerie and mesmerizing 'Shadow Of A Doubt' was inspired by the Alfred Hitchcock's 'Strangers On A Train'.

"You take me and I'll take you
You kill him and I'll kill her
Swear it wasn't meant to be
Swear I didn't mean it"

'Starpower' was released with an edited single version; but who needs that when you can have the full length album version.

"Spinning dreams with angel wings
torn blue jeans a foolish grin
burning down in the night
so cool so right "

'Green Light' is the soundtrack to a night of passion.

"Her light is the night
I'm not blind, I believe in you"

'Secret Girls' echoes Mrs. Dedalus from James Joyce's 'Ulysses'.

"The advertisement's saying, that pleasure's ever lasting
Must be dead and gone to heaven
Come and touch me here
So I know, that I'm, not there"

'Expressway To Yr. Skull' is alternately titled as 'Madonna, Sean, and Me' and 'The Crucifixion of Sean Penn' on the album sleeve. The time on the song is listed on the vinyl label as "∞" because the last strains of the song are locked in an endless groove. The CD fades the song out after seven minutes and nineteen seconds.

"We're gonna find the meaning of feeling good
And we're gonna stay there
As long as we think we should
Mystery train
Three way plane"

full album:

All songs written and composed by Sonic Youth (Thurston Moore, Kim Gordon, Lee Ranaldo, Steve Shelley), except as noted. 

lyrics and vocals

Side A
1. "Tom Violence"   Moore Moore 3:05
2. "Shadow of a Doubt"   Gordon Gordon 3:32
3. "Starpower"   Moore Gordon 4:48
4. "In the Kingdom #19"   Ranaldo Ranaldo 3:24
5. "Green Light"   Moore Moore 3:46
Side B
6. "Death to Our Friends"   3:16
7. "Secret Girls"   Gordon Gordon 2:54
8. "Marilyn Moore"   Lydia Lunch, Moore Moore 4:04
9. "Expressway to Yr. Skull"   Moore Moore 7:19

No comments:

Post a Comment