Thursday, September 30, 2010

rain dogs

tom waits' rain dogs emerged like something dark and magical from the seedy underbelly of our collective consciousness. waits had evolved from beatnik jazz hipster to a kind of wild man blues that was both frightening and fascinating. sharp, tender, fierce, and funny; he had found his new voice through creative collaboration with his wife kathleen brennan, who had introduced him to the music of captain beefheart. his new primal singing style began with heartattack and vine and developed further with swordfishtrombones; but became fully realized on this album. it is rife with tarentellas, nursery rhymes, back street myths, and tawdry tales of woe; but there is hope of redemption as well. "close your eyes, son, and this won't hurt a bit."

'downtown train' with robert quine, g.e. smith, and tony levin.

"thorns without the rose, be careful of them in the dark"

'9th & hennepin'

"such a crumbling beauty"

'blind love' with keith richards and robert quine on guitar

"hotels and whiskey and sad luck dames"

rain dogs
full album:

All songs written and composed by Tom Waits except where noted.

Side one
1. "Singapore"   2:46
2. "Clap Hands"   3:47
3. "Cemetery Polka"   1:51
4. "Jockey Full of Bourbon"   2:45
5. "Tango Till They're Sore"   2:49
6. "Big Black Mariah"   2:44
7. "Diamonds & Gold"   2:31
8. "Hang Down Your Head"   Kathleen Brennan, Waits 2:32
9. "Time"   3:55
Side two
10. "Rain Dogs"   2:56
11. "Midtown" (instrumental) 1:00
12. "9th & Hennepin"   1:58
13. "Gun Street Girl"   4:37
14. "Union Square"   2:24
15. "Blind Love"   4:18
16. "Walking Spanish"   3:05
17. "Downtown Train"   3:53
18. "Bride of Rain Dog" (instrumental) 1:07
19. "Anywhere I Lay My Head"   2:48

No comments:

Post a Comment