Sunday, May 12, 2013

space ritual

Hawkwind took their cosmic rock to the stars with the sonic attack and hypnotic rhythms of this canonical culmination of their live aesthetic. With their single 'Silver Machine' going to number three on the UK charts, the band was able to finance the elaborate tour for their album 'Doremi Fasol Latido' that was documented on the double-live extravaganza that is 'The Space Ritual Alive in Liverpool and London'. Hawkwind produced the album, which was recorded from two shows, one at Liverpool Stadium on 22 December 1972 and the other at Brixton Sundown on 30 December 1972 by Vic Maile and the Pye Mobile. the musicnauts included Robert Calvert on vocals; Dave Brock on guitar and vocals; Nik Turner on saxophone, flute, and vocals; Lemmy (Ian Kilmister) on bass guitar and vocals; Dik Mik (Michael Davies) and Del Dettmar on synthesizer; and Simon King on drums. The sound takes their trippy space rock drone to another level with the thunderous acid punk onslaught and the poetic recitations written by science fiction author Michael Moorcock that break up the extended jams provide bewildering relief. 

'Space Ritual' became their highest charting album, going to number nine in the UK and even made an appearance on the US Billboard 200 peaking at number one hundred and seventy-nine. Barney Bubbles designed the mindbending deluxe album sleeve with twelve different foldout panels.

"Space Is Deep" 

"Electronic No. 1"

"You Shouldn't Do That" / "Seeing It As You Really Are"

"Born to Go"

'Space Ritual' 
full album

Side 1
"Earth Calling" (Robert Calvert) – 1:44
"Born to Go" (Calvert, Dave Brock) – 9:56
"Down Through the Night" (Brock) – 6:16
"The Awakening" (Calvert) – 1:32

Side 2
"Lord of Light" (Brock) – 7:21
"Black Corridor" (Michael Moorcock) – 1:51
"Space Is Deep" (Brock) – 8:13
"Electronic No. 1" (Dik Mik Davies, Del Dettmar) – 2:26

Side 3
"Orgone Accumulator" (Calvert, Brock) – 9:59
"Upside Down" (Brock) – 2:43
"10 Seconds of Forever" (Calvert) – 2:05
"Brainstorm" (Turner) – 9:20

Side 4
"Seven By Seven" (Brock) – 6:11
"Sonic Attack" (Moorcock) – 2:54
"Time We Left This World Today" (Brock) – 5:47
"Master of the Universe" (Nik Turner, Brock) – 7:37
"Welcome to the Future" (Calvert) – 2:04

bonus tracks:

No comments:

Post a Comment