Saturday, May 4, 2013

rid of me

PJ Harvey trampled the competition with the raw and ragged stripped down psychotic stalkings of this dynamic and difficult dispatch.  Polly Jean Harvey had signed to Island Records just before the release of her debut 'Dry' on the independent label Too Pure.  The whirlwind of activity surrounding the tour combined with exhaustion, malnutrition, and a breakup to cause a nervous breakdown for her.  She left London and went back to her home in Dorset, where she began writing songs for her next album.   

"Rid of Me"




"Highway '61 Revisited" 

"50ft Queenie"







'Rid of Me' 
full album:

All tracks written by Polly Jean Harvey

Side one
1. "Rid of Me" 4:28
2. "Missed" 4:25
3. "Legs" 3:40
4. "Rub 'til It Bleeds" 5:03
5. "Hook" 3:57
6. "Man-Size Sextet" 2:18
Side two
7. "Highway 61 Revisited" Bob Dylan  2:57
8. "50ft Queenie" 2:23
9. "Yuri-G" 3:28
10. "Man-Size" 3:16
11. "Dry" 3:23
12. "Me-Jane" 2:42
13. "Snake" 1:36

14. "Ecstasy" 4:26

No comments:

Post a Comment