Friday, December 9, 2011

fresh cream

These three guys were the cream of the crop in the world of blues and jazz musicians when they made their debut with this heavy psychedelic expansion of those forms. In the wake of his short stints with the Yardbirds and John Mayall's Bluesbreakers, Eric Clapton was ready for something new. Drummer Ginger Baker was tired of the drama in the Graham Bond Organisation and invited Clapton to join his new band that he was forming. Clapton agreed and insisted on bringing in bassist Jack Bruce, who had played with Clapton in the Bluesbreakers and with Baker in Graham Bond. Clapton did not know about the feuding between Baker and Bruce when they had worked together; but the rhythm section agreed to put their differences aside for this new collaborative supergroup. For their first album, they fell back on some blues standards for half of the songs. Their manager Robert Stigwood produced the recordings at Rayrik Studios and Ryemuse Studios in London for his new label Reaction Records. 'Fresh Cream' made it to number six on the British album chart and number thirty-nine in the US and its heavy jams proved a huge influence on rock music.

Bruce also wrote "N.S.U."

"Toad" was composed by Baker.

'Fresh Cream'
full album:

Original U.S. version
Side one
1. "I Feel Free"   Bruce, Pete Brown 2:52
2. "N.S.U."   Bruce 2:44
3. "Sleepy Time Time"   Bruce, Godfrey 4:20
4. "Dreaming"   Bruce 2:00
5. "Sweet Wine"   Baker, Godfrey 3:18
Side two
1. "Cat's Squirrel" (Instrumental) Traditional, arr. by Baker, Bruce, Clapton 3:03
2. "Four Until Late" (Lead vocals: Clapton) Johnson, arr. Clapton 2:07
3. "Rollin' and Tumblin'"   Morganfield 4:42
4. "I'm So Glad"   James 3:57

5. "Toad" (Instrumental) Baker 5:11

No comments:

Post a Comment