Sunday, July 12, 2015


John Coltrane took his wild jazz blues to the next level with this supreme sequel of innovation and affirmation.   Six months after the triumph of 'A Love Supreme', the same quartet returned to Van Gelder Studio in Englewood Cliffs.   

Recorded by Rudy Van Gelder on June 10, 1965, the session featured  John Coltrane on tenor saxophone;   McCoy Tyner on piano;   Jimmy Garrison on double bass;   and  Elvin Jones on drums.  The May 26 recording of "Dear Lord" has Roy Haynes substituting for Jones on drums.  These recordings would not surface for five years.  In the meantime, Coltrane had died from liver cancer at Huntington Hospital on Long Island on July 17, 1967, at the age of 40.  The posthumous 'Transition' was produced by Alice Coltrane with co-producer Ed Michel.    It was one of eleven albums that Coltrane recorded in 1965.  

Nat Hentoff recounts in the liner notes:    "'The music has to speak for itself,' John Coltrane said once when I asked him for a structural exegesis of one of his composition-performances.  'I'd much rather,' he continued, 'you didn't put anything technical in the notes.  It might get in the way of people finding out what there is in the music for them.'"


full album:

"Transition" - 15:31
"Dear Lord" - 5:32
"Suite"  - 21:20
A   Prayer and Meditation: Day
B   Peace and After
C   Prayer and Meditation: Evening
D   Affirmation
E   Prayer and Meditation: 4 A.M.

two tracks also recorded on June 10 replaced "Dear Lord" on some of the cd reissues:  

"Welcome" - 5:34
"Vigil" - 9:51

No comments:

Post a Comment