Thursday, February 12, 2015

the comforts of madness

 Pale Saints fell from the sun into a sea of sound for the rush of a true coming dream.  The trio formed in Leeds, England and was signed to 4AD by Ivo Watts-Russell after their first show in London.  The EP 'Barging Into the Presence of God' came out in September of 1989 and went to number three on the UK indie chart.  

'The Comforts of Madness' was recorded at Blackwing Studios in London with four of the tracks (4, 6, 8,  and 11) produced by Gil Norton and engineered by Al Clay and assistant Tim Davis and the rest produced and engineered by John Fryer.  The sessions featured Ian Masters on bass and vocals;  Graeme Naysmith on guitar;  and Chris Cooper on drums.  

Masters mused:  "We have got a serious attitude towards all this.  It's not jokey music, it's not meant to be disposable or something that will endure a few listens...It all depends on what perspective you have on it.  It's easy to take yourself seriously when you've been in a studio for four months and taken eighteen hours to do some trivial part of one of the songs.  You've concentrated so hard during such an intense process and, by the time you get to the mixing desk, your ears are shot and you can't hear anyting at all.  But then it's finished and whatever happens after that is largely out of your hands."

'The Comforts of Madness' went to number forty on the UK album chart.

"Fell From the Sun"

"Sight of You"

"Time Thief"

'The Comforts of Madness' 
full album:

All songs written and composed by Pale Saints (Chris Cooper, Graeme Naysmith, Ian Masters), except for "Fell from the Sun" by Opal.

No comments:

Post a Comment