Tuesday, March 12, 2013

everybody else is doing it, so why can't we

The Cranberries had a long slow climb to success with the uncommonly delicate emotions of this subtle and thoughtful debut.  Originally formed as The Cranberry Saw Us in Limerick, Ireland by brothers Mike and Noel Hogan with Fergal Lawler and singer Niall Quinn, the group shortened their name to The Cranberries after auditioning vocalist Dolores O'Riordan to replace Quinn.  Their demo tape caused a bidding war between record labels that eventually led to a deal with Island Records.  Their manager Pearse Gilmore produced sessions for their first album; but the disappointing reviews of their first single and the tension between Gilmore and the band led them to fire him and completely start over with Smiths producer Stephen Street.  Street produced and engineered the sessions for what would become 'Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can't We?' with Dolores O'Riordan on vocals and acoustic guitar; Noel Hogan on guitars and backing vocals; Mike Hogan on bass; and Fergal Lawler on drums and percussion; with additional vocals by Mike Mahoney.  The album floundered on the charts until a tour of the US supporting Suede.  'Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can't We?' would eventually chart at number twenty-four in Sweden, eighteen in Germany and the US, sixteen in Australia, four on the US heatseekers chart, and number one in Ireland and the UK.  O'Riordan says:    “I remember walking in the door in Ballybricken and crying. I went away a nobody and came back to all this attention. It was really strange, people were treating me like some sort of star. I think a lot of people in Ireland were embarrassed by our success, simply because they didn’t believe in us in the first place. The people in the Dublin music scene had turned their backs on us, I mean we used to be sneered at for being from Limerick. I’m glad we’re a success because it annoyed them that we were successful without their help… What happened with The Cranberries was very spectacular, and it was overnight in a sense. And then the album went to number one in Ireland and in Britain. We’ve now sold four million copies of our little album. That’s an awful lot… My God, four million.”


'Linger' went to thirty-eight in New Zealand, fourteen in the UK, eight in the US, four in Canada, and three in Ireland.

'Dreams' floated to number forty-two in the US, thirty in Australia, twenty-seven in Canada and the UK, and nine in Ireland. 

'Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can't We?' 
full album:

1. 00:00  "I Still Do"   3:16 
2. 03:25  "Dreams"   4:32 
3. 08:05  "Sunday"   3:30 
4. 11:43  "Pretty"   2:16 
5. 14:03  "Waltzing Back"   3:38 
6. 17:48  "Not Sorry"   4:20 
7. 22:17  "Linger"   4:34 
8. 26:59  "Wanted"   2:07 
9. 29:12  "Still Can't..."   3:38 
10.32:58  "I Will Always"   2:42 
11.35:45  "How"   2:51 
12.38:43  "Put Me Down"   3:33

No comments:

Post a Comment