Sunday, December 21, 2014

second winter

Johnny Winter went slippin' and slidin' into the blues with the grit and gravel of this three sided sensation.   Winter had enjoyed a whirlwind of success during 1969, with his major label debut album 'First Winter', the re-release of his album 'The Progressive Blues Experiment', and an appearance at the Woodstock Arts & Music Festival.  

In the midst of this glut of material, Winter produced his next album in Nashville.   'Second Winter' features Johnny Winter on guitar, mandolin, and vocals;  his younger brother Edgar Winter on keyboards, alto saxophone, and vocals;  Uncle John Turner on drums and percussion;  and Tommy Shannon and Dennis Collins on bass.    Winter had intended to edit the material down to a single album; but it was so good he decided to expand it to include three sides on a double album with the fourth side left blank.  

The fact that both Johnny and Edgar were albinos, made for some resistance to their music.  Johnny would consider:  “Most people in Texas didn’t like black people because they were too dark, and they didn’t like me because I was too white.  That helped me relate to the black experience ...  I was in the kitchen at my grandparents’ house when I first heard blues music. I was about thirteen years old. They had a black maid and a black guy that worked in the yard and they listened to this black radio station K-JET. So that’s the first time I heard it and I knew right away that this was really great music. It had so much feeling and so much emotion. It got into my soul and I said I have to learn how to play this.   I’d just started playing guitar.  I played ukulele before that—I’d been playing that since I was nine-years-old. But I loved blues music so much and that’s the kind of music I wanted to play so I knew I had to learn how to do it."

"Memory Pain"

"Johnny B. Goode"

"Highway 61 Revisited"

"Tell The Truth"

Woodstock 1969

Live Copenhagen 1970 Full Show

Live From Montreux Jazz Festival 1970

- Johnny B. Goode 00:00
- Mean Mistreater 03:48
- Black Cat Bone 14:55
- Help Me 20:32
- Talk To Your Daughter 24:58
- Mean Town Blues 29:42

 'Second Winter' 
full album:

Side one
1. "Memory Pain"   Percy Mayfield 5:34
2. "I'm Not Sure"   Johnny Winter  5:23
3. "The Good Love"   Dennis Collins  4:43
Side two
1. "Slippin' and Slidin'"   Eddie Bocage, Albert Collins, Little Richard, James Smith 2:47
2. "Miss Ann"   Enotris Johnson, Little Richard 3:42
3. "Johnny B. Goode"   Chuck Berry 2:49
4. "Highway 61 Revisited"   Bob Dylan 5:07
Side three
1. "I Love Everybody"   Johnny Winter  3:44
2. "Hustled Down in Texas"   Johnny Winter  3:32
3. "I Hate Everybody"   Johnny Winter  2:33
4. "Fast Life Rider"   Johnny Winter  7:00

5. "Early In the Morning (Legacy Bonus Track)"   Johnny Winter 3:49
6. "Tell the Truth (Legacy Bonus Track)"   Johnny Winter 4:30

No comments:

Post a Comment