Wednesday, July 10, 2013

the principle of moments

Robert Plant found the perfect balance with the experimental expressiveness and reflective tension of this mystical new wave rock hybrid.  With the success of his solo debut 'Pictures at Eleven'Plant decided to stick with the same group of musicians for the followup.  'The Principle of Moments' was produced by Robert Plant, Benji LeFevre, and Pat Moran at Rockfield Studios in Monmouth, Wales with Robert Plant on vocals; Robbie Blunt on guitars; Paul Martinez on bass guitar; Jezz Woodroffe on keyboards; Phil Collins and Barriemore Barlow on drums; Bob Mayo on guitars, keyboards, and backing vocals; and John David and Ray Martinez on backing vocals.  

'The Principle of Moments' whirled to forty-one in Sweden, ten in Australia, eight in the US, seven in the UK, and number one in New Zealand.  Plant revealed the meaning behind the title:    "The principle of moments is a law of physics related to equilibrium...balance and I think it's probably taken me a while maybe I'm just beginning to understand what equilibrium and balance is. I don't think anyone who does what I do has total sort of control of equilibrium and balance but I think I've got it more or less sorted out.  I'm more or less the master of my own ship and that helps a lot...I'm far more in control of my life...When a body is in equilibrium under the action of a number of forces the sum of the clockwise moments about the fulcrum or at any point are equal to the sum of the anti clockwise moments about that fulcrum or that same point...I remember that from when I was about twelve; so there must be someone out there who understands it too. Just balance: keep it all together."

"In the Mood" 

"Horizontal Departure"

"Big Log"

My love is in league with the freeway
It's passion will rise as the cities fly by
And the tail lights dissolve in the coming of night
And the questions and thousands take flight
My love is miles in awaiting
The eyes that just stare and the glance at the clock
In the secret that burns and the pain that won't stop
And it's fueled with the years
Leading me on (leading me on)
Leading me down the road
Driving me on (driving me on)
Driving me down the road
My love is exceeding and women
Red eyed and fevered with the hum of the miles
Distance and longing and my thoughts do collide
Should I rest for a while and decide
Your love is cradled in knowing
Eyes in the mirror still expecting their prey
Sensing too well when the journey is done
There is no turning back
There is no turning back
On the run
My love is in league
With the freeway
Oh with the freeway
And the coming of the night time
My love
My love
Is in league with the freeway

'The Principle of Moments' 

full album:

all songs written by Robert Plant, Robbie Blunt, except where noted.

Side One

"Other Arms" 4:20
"In the Mood" (Plant, Blunt, Paul Martinez) – 5:19
"Messin' with the Mekon" (Plant, Blunt, Martinez) – 4:40
"Wreckless Love"  5:18
Side Two
"Thru' with the Two Step" (Plant, Blunt, Martinez) – 5:33
"Horizontal Departure" (Plant, Blunt, Martinez, Jezz Woodroffe) – 4:19
"Stranger Here... Than Over There" (Plant, Blunt, Martinez, Woodroffe) – 4:18
"Big Log" (Plant, Blunt, Woodroffe) – 5:03

No comments:

Post a Comment