Monday, June 24, 2013


The Beach Boys continued to confound the expectations of fans and critics with the understated harmonic pop brilliance of this short and sweet sonic smile.  After Brian Wilson's nervous breakdown and the scrapping of the 'SMiLE' project, the band quickly put together 'Smiley Smile' with decreasing influence of Brian Wilson.  After cancelling their headlining appearance at the Monterey Pop Festival, their next album, 'Wild Honey' saw the band moving toward a more soulful sound with Carl Wilson talking on more of a dominant role in production.  After meeting Maharishi Mahesh Yogi at a show in Paris, Mike Love went to India along with folks like Donovan and the Beatles to study transcendental mediation.  In the meantime, the rest of the band including Brian Wilson, Dennis Wilson, Carl Wilson, Al Jardine, and Bruce Johnston worked with members of the Wrecking Crew on recording their new album at Brian Wilson's home studio on Bellagio Road in Los Angeles.  Love returned from India to contribute vocals during the last few weeks of recording.  'Friends' features significant songwriting contributions from Brian Wilson; but includes more imput from the rest of the band, most notably Dennis Wilson.  The album charted at number one hundred and twenty-six in the US and thirteen in the UK.   It clocks in at less than a half hour and is characterized by exotic instrumental interludes and snippits of songs that seem to end all too soon.  The sound is laid back for most of the album.  The jazzy final flourish of 'Transcendental Meditation' is hardly relaxing; but shows their willingness to experiment hasn't gone completely.

"Meant for You"  /  "Friends"  

"Wake the World" 

"Be Here in the Mornin'" 

"When a Man Needs a Woman"  

"Passing By"  

"Busy Doin' Nothin'"  

"Diamond Head" 

"Transcendental Meditation"  

full album:

Side one
1. "Meant for You"   Brian Wilson/Mike Love Love 0:38
2. "Friends"   B. Wilson/Carl Wilson/Dennis Wilson/Al Jardine C. Wilson 2:30
3. "Wake the World"   B. Wilson/Jardine B. Wilson/C. Wilson 1:28
4. "Be Here in the Mornin'"   B. Wilson/C. Wilson/Love/Jardine Jardine/B. Wilson/C. Wilson 2:16
5. "When a Man Needs a Woman"   B. Wilson/D. Wilson/C. Wilson/Jardine/Steve Korthof/Jon Parks B. Wilson 2:06
6. "Passing By"   B. Wilson B. Wilson/C. Wilson/Jardine (wordless) 2:23
Side two
1. "Anna Lee, the Healer"   B. Wilson/Love Love 1:51
2. "Little Bird"   D. Wilson/Steve Kalinich D. Wilson 1:57
3. "Be Still"   D. Wilson/Kalinich D. Wilson 1:22
4. "Busy Doin' Nothin'"   B. Wilson B. Wilson 3:04
5. "Diamond Head"   Al Vescovo/Lyle Ritz/Jim Ackley/B. Wilson Instrumental 3:37
6. "Transcendental Meditation"   B. Wilson/Love/Jardine B. Wilson 1:49

No comments:

Post a Comment