Sunday, April 21, 2013

flight of the conchords

New Zealand's Flight of the Conchords brought together songs from their television comedy series into their delightful debut.  Bret McKenzie and Jemaine Clement met while studying film and theatre at Victoria University of Wellington.  McKenzie recalls:   "We were in drama club, which was like Footlights or something. Er, I think. From what I can gather. It was like a drama club...We just did this one comedy show. It was 25 people, all doing a self-devised show about body image. And we got randomly put into a group of five guys. And Jemaine and I happened to be in the same group."

They moved into a decrepit house together with several friends and began writing songs together.  Clement says:   "It was really, really falling apart. It was a student flat. It was like 'The Young Ones'."   They adopted the moniker Flight of the Conchords after going through names like Roxygen Supply, Albatrocity, and Tanfastic.  The duo spent years touring at international comedy festivals in places like Edinburgh, Calgary, and Montreal.  They were approached by an HBO talent scout about doing a show.  Clement remembers:    "It was amazingly exciting: American people saw us, and telephoned us from America, and asked us to come over and do some shows! It was just exciting that someone from America had seen us!"

The duo did a live performance that was recorded for the stand up comedy show 'One Night Stand'.  The response to that show led to a TV pilot and their own sitcom, 'Flight of the Conchords'.  The album was put together with songs from the first season of the show.  All of the songs were written and performed by Jemaine Clement and Bret McKenzie; with Sara Johnson on vocals on "Foux du Fafa"; Robin Lynn on keys on "Foux du Fafa," "Think About It" and "The Most Beautiful Girl (In the Room)"; Gus Seyffert on bass on "Think About It" and "Business Time"; Danny Frankel on percussion on "Think About It," "The Prince of Parties" and "Business Time"; Mickey Petralia on drums on "Ladies of the World" and "Leggy Blonde;" percussion on "The Prince of Parties" and "A Kiss is Not a Contract"; Mark Lewis on drums on "Ladies of the World" and "The Most Beautiful Girl (In the Room)"; Kyle O'Callaghan - co-writer and guitar on "The Most Beautiful Girl (In the Room)"; Rhys Darby on vocals on "Leggy Blonde"; Scott Seiver on drums on "Business Time" and "Bowie"; and David Ralicke on horns on "Bowie".  The sessions were produced by Mickey Petralia.   McKenzie quips:    "It took about forty-five minutes to record.  We had Mickey Petralia producing it, and he’s a studio wizard. He’s also an octopus. And yeah, we cloned ourselves as well to help, to play drums and bass and keyboards. Did I mention that? I forgot to mention that. We spent most of the time in the studio working on our clones, and then once we had our clones, the recording process was fairly simple."

'Flight of the Conchords' soared to thirty-seven in Australia, thirty-four in Canada, thirty-two in the UK, three in the US, and number one in New Zealand.  The album made its debut at number three in the US and number two in New Zealand.   'Flight of the Conchords'  helped them make the transition from "New Zealand's 4th most popular guitar-based digi-bongo acapella-rap-funk-comedy folk duo" to "the almost award-winning fourth-most-popular folk duo in New Zealand."

"Foux du Fafa"   2:47

"Hiphopopotamus vs. Rhymnoceros"   2:09

"Think About It"   3:15

"Ladies of the World"   3:57

Flight of the Conchords - Ladies of the World by subpoprecords

"The Prince of Parties"   1:49

"Leggy Blonde" (feat. Rhys Darby) 2:42

"Robots"   3:43

"Boom"   2:18

"A Kiss Is Not a Contract"   1:55

"The Most Beautiful Girl (In the Room)"   4:02

"Business Time"   4:05

"Bowie"   3:16

bonus track
"Bret, You've Got It Going On" (pre-order only) 1:43

'Flight of the Conchords'
full album:

All tracks written by Jemaine Clement and Bret McKenzie.

1. "Foux du Fafa" 2:47
2. "Inner City Pressure" 3:27
3. "Hiphopopotamus vs. Rhymenoceros" 2:09
4. "Think About It" 3:15
5. "Ladies of the World" 3:57
6. "Mutha'uckas" 2:27
7. "The Prince of Parties" 1:49
8. "Leggy Blonde" (feat. Rhys Darby) 2:42
9. "Robots" 3:43
10. "Boom" 2:18
11. "A Kiss Is Not a Contract" 1:55
12. "The Most Beautiful Girl (In the Room)" 4:02
13. "Business Time" 4:05
14. "Bowie" 3:16
15. "Au Revoir" 0:22

No comments:

Post a Comment